Week 2 Application Assignment (3): Response to Rene’s Blog-REDO


Kossivi Says:

March 14, 2010 at 5:23 pm

http://ideas.blogs.com/

In her blog, relating to the site above Rene stated: “If you are like me and are new to instructional technology and design, this blog is a great resource because it seems to be grounded in reality…What I found most appealing and helpful is that the author is currently doing the work of instructional design”.

Instructional Design and Technology (IDT), yes I am a novice with limited knowledge in the subject matter and need help; that is why I enrolled in the MS-IDT: Online Learning. Maybe I am a little bit impatient.

I added this site to my blog list so I can gain some insights. Blogging broadens my learning horizon and exposes me to new ways of thinking, but when I started reading about IDEAS: Instructional Design for E-learning Approaches and other subtopics I realized that IDEAS became exactly what the words said; that was ideas.  I was disappointed about Rene’s claim above.

I am expecting something extraordinary that can help me starting implementing IDT before my degree. I think I expect too much and am disappointed. The worst part of it is when I read Instructional Technology Application, click on the link and get this:

“The page cannot be found
(The page you are looking for might have been removed, had its name changed, or is temporarily unavailable. Please try the following: Make sure that the Web site address displayed in the address bar of your browser is spelled and formatted correctly. 
If you reached this page by clicking a link, contact the Web site administrator to alert them that the link is incorrectly formatted. Click the Back button to try another link. Http Error 404 – File or directory not found”.file://localhost/IDEAS/Instructional Design for Elearning ApprocheS

http://intuitiveedesign.wordpress.com/2010/03/07/an-instructional-design-blogs-and-resource-sites-review/ – comments

Sometimes, some subtopics lead to buy software; it is like the author is advertizing or marketing for a software company.

Instructional Design and Technology, as I read, “is the science of creating detailed specifications for the development, implementation, evaluation, and maintenance of situations that facilitate the learning of both large and small units of subject matter at all levels of complexity.” As a science and as a process, Teaching needs Instructional Design and Technology to complement itself.  The reality is that, as a mathematics teacher, I design modules about a math concept, a skill to give a core of an instruction situation in a systematic way; which means that I am using instructional design all the time I have to write a lesson plan or have to teach a lesson; so it is important for me to learn more about it, and master the design to be more effective in my work and in any other field of Endeavour.  IDT provides the expert with various advantages.

In 1998, when I was doing my Master in Business Administration (MBA), in Toulouse (France), I researched on ‘E-commerce and Market Globalization’ and realized technology was advancing at the paste never seen before and came to a conclusion that soon or later, there will be classrooms without walls and my profession as a teacher will be jeopardized if I do nothing to improve myself professionally.  Here we are today with the reality in my lifetime where I do not have to go to any physical building to learn.  The use of blackboard or white board facilitates interaction with course facilitator and or group of people for discussions. Math software with the use of technology help students to appreciate and love the subject they were once afraid of, and be more in tune with real life situations, thus motivating them to learn the subject they considered difficult. This fact influenced my decision to choose the field of Instructional Design and Technology and my dream, some day, is that I would be able to use this course for online learning to educate students and /or other people.

In 1996, during my undergraduate program in mathematics, I did a project on ‘Determinant of four by four matrices by Looping’.  I spent more than three months developing a formula.  If I were using math software and technology application I would not have spent so much time on the project.  So when I am exposed to IDEAS, I expect step- by -step instructions of how with real applications, but unfortunately I meet Instructional Design for Elearning Approaches (IDEAS) remain on its pure unadulterated state of ideas of writers.

Published in: on March 21, 2010 at 2:36 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://skossivi.wordpress.com/2010/03/21/week-2-application-assignment-3-response-to-rene%e2%80%99s-blog-redo/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a comment